Ya Kasita Sheya Henock



Member of Parliament


Okaku Constituency

Oshana Region


Other information

Other information:

Legislative Profile

Deputy Minister of Lands and Resettlement (2008 - 2010); Deputy Minister of Mines and Enery (2003 - 2008); SWAPO Chief Whip in the National Council (1994 - 2003); Member of the National Council for Oshana region (1993 - 2010); Councilor for the Okaku Constituency (1993 - 2010); Deputy Chairperson, Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) National Group (1996-2000); Chairperson, Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU) National Group (2000 - 2004); Member of Trustee Fund for Members of Parliament and Political Office-Bearers Pension Fund (2000 - 2004);


Born 01 January 1953 at Okapya, Oshana Region. Resides in Okapya, Ondangwa.


Diploma, Infantry Battalion, USSR (1978); Diploma, Social Science and Management, Academy of Social Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria (1980); Diploma, Major Infantry Battalion Commander, Odessa, Ukraine, USSR. Diploma, Journalism, Lubango, Angola High School Teacher's Certificate, Cuba (1986); Diploma, Marxist-Leninist Philosophy and International Political Relations, Havana, Cuba. Matric/Senior Certificate, Higher Institute, South Africa (1994); Reading law since 1999, Unisa, South Africa. Certificate, Tulane Law School, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA (2000).


Teacher at Eheke Senior Primary School, Oshana region (1977); AAD Platoon Commander, Tobias Hainyeko Training College (1978 - 1979). Detachment Political Commissar, NW Front (1980 - 1981); Political Instructor for SWAPO-PLAN Combatants in Angola (1981-1983); SWAPO Deputy Secretary for Youth in Cuba (1983-1985); School Principal for Primary and Junior Secondary Schools at Hosea Kutako, Island of Youth, Cuba (1986 - 1988); SWAPO Regional Mobiliser at Grootfontein, Otjozondjupa Region (1989-1990); SWAPO District Co-ordinator, Okango, Ohangwena Region (1990-1991); SWAPO Regional Mobiliser, Oshakati, Oshana region (1991-1992); SWAPO District Co-ordinator for Okaku (1992);  Elected SWAPO Member of Central Committee since 1998;


Law, Politics and Policy matters
Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia