New French Ambassador meets Speaker, 17 February 2021

Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Proffessor Peter Katjavivi (right) with newly accredited French Ambassador to Namibia, H.E. Sebastian Minot


  Story by George Sanzila

Windhoek - Newly accredited French ambassador to Namibia, H.E. Sebastien Minot paid a courtesy call on the Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Prof. Peter Katjavivi today (17/02/2021). Ambassador Minot took over from Claire Bodonyi whose term of office ended in 2020.

Hon. Katjavivi recognized the role played by France in supporting Namibia’s struggle for freedom, noting that he looked forward to a continued good relationship. “We received some members of parliament from France last year in the company of your predecessor, Ambassador Claire Bodonyi and we discussed a number of issues including food security. Despite the pandemic, we hope we continue to build on this and many other issues”, said Katjavivi.

France has helped initiate many community- based projects that have contributed to food security. A French – Namibia Parliamentary friendship group was also mooted during the latter engagement.

Speaker further reiterated his earlier call for French support in all areas of social development, singling out the successful Franco-German reconciliation initiative that emanated from the second world war, he says could be replicated in Namibia to resolve the thorny issue of genocide.


The French diplomat noted that he was ready to continue to promote cooperation between the two countries. He revealed that, already two French archeologists were in the country to conduct studies on the origins of humanity and pastoralism in collaboration with the National Heritage Council of Namibia, the Museums Association of Namibia and the University of Namibia. Young Namibian researchers are also taking part in this research study. Minot further stated that close collaboration between concerned French and Namibian institutions has been formalized and cemented.

Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia