HomeCommittee on Gender, Youth and Information Communications Technology

Standing Committee on Gender, Youth and Information Communication Technology


The function of this Committee is:

  1. To scrutinize and report to the National Council on matters and questions falling within the ambit of Ministries, Organs, all State-Owned Enterprises, Parastatals and the private sector concerning Gender Equality and Child Welfare; Information Communication Technology, Youth, National Services, Sport and Culture; Education, Training and Employment Equity Commission;
  2. To promote gender balance with regard to matters standing for consideration in the National Council;
  3. To scrutinize and review the implication of Bills and Acts that discriminate and negatively impact on the lives of women, youths and children;
  4. To advise National Council on programmes reached at national, regional and international levels on HIV/AIDS prevention and care, teenage pregnancies, poverty, unemployment reduction strategies, alcohol and substance abuse, orphans, vulnerable children, gender equality, children’s rights and information sharing;
  5. To address gender and youth issues and promote gender equality to improve the status of youths and women in Namibia;
  6. To liaise with bodies, Ministries and institutions representing the interest of the youth, gender, information and advise the National Council on such matters;
  7. To monitor the implementation of the decentralization process;
  8. To monitor the implementation of Offices, Ministries and Agencies falling within the Committee’s ambit;
  9. To ensure gender sensitive budgeting, perform gender audits and observe the media for gender related matters; and
  10. To perform any other functions, duties and tasks as may be referred to it by the Council.

O/M/A Served

Not Specified


Mr Brian Riruako
+ 264 61 202 8132
+264 61 202 8146
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

No articles to display

Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia