HomeParliamentary Newslatest news 2018 President Geingob delivers 2018 State of the Nation Address

President Geingob delivers 2018 State of the Nation Address

H.E Dr Hage G. Geingob



Geingob delivering the state of the nation address in parliament yesterday underscored the theme for this year by stating that effective governance is essential for socio-economic development. “It is for this reason I declared an all-out war against poverty, inequalities and corruption upon assuming Office.”

Geingob lamented the fact that corruption is the number one enemy in the war against poverty as it diverts scarce resources intended for development and said the fight against corruption requires a robust governance architecture underpinned by the principles of accountability and transparency. He encouraged all citizens to be active role players and stressed that we all have a shared obligation to report cases of corruption.

The Whistle Blowers Protection and Witness Protection Acts passed in 2017 and the Public Procurement Act that became fully operational in 2017 are legal instruments in the fight against corruption.


The President informed the House that the land conference slated for October this year will focus among others: on the willing-buyer, willing-seller principle; ancestral land claims for restitution and expropriation of land in public interest with just compensation.

On service delivery and satisfaction, the President said the Citizen Satisfaction Survey will be used as a baseline assessment to establish standards of service delivery. About 22 out of 27 OMAs revised their Customer Service Charters, while 25 OMAs have installed a feedback mechanism through suggestion boxes that are analyzed on a monthly basis to inform remedial plans.

The President further said, the e- Governance: Digital Platforms and the company name reservation toll at BIPA that has been introduced are among of the legal instruments that will enhance efficiencies in public service delivery.

Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia