

Tuesday, 11 February 2025

No. 3 – 2025

SPECIAL SESSION, SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

# REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### **TUESDAY, 11 FEBRUARY 2025**

The Assembly met pursuant to the adjournment.

1. The Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer and Affirmation.

# 2. Announcements by the Speaker in terms of Rule 117(b) the Standing Rules and Orders –

(i) The Speaker reported that on 9 February 2025, Namibia woke up to the devastating news of the passing of His Excellency, Dr. Sam Shafiishuna Nujoma, the "Founding President of the Republic of Namibia" and "Father of the Namibian Nation".

The Speaker said Dr. Sam Nujoma led the bitter and long struggle for Namibia's independence from the joke of colonialism ands apartheid. He stood firm during this noble cause until the final victory was achieved on the 21<sup>ST</sup> March 1990, the day on which he was also sworn in as the First President of an independent Republic of Namibia.

The Speaker expressed the Assembly's collective heartfelt condolences to our Founding First Lady, Madame Kovambo Nujoma, Hon. Utoni Nujoma, the siblings and the extended family.

A Minute of Silence Observed in honour and memory of our Founding President.

The Speaker reported that tomorrow's sitting will be dedicated to all Members of the Assembly to reflect on the life and times of Dr. Sam Nujoma and to deliver tributes.

- (ii) The Speaker reported that he has been informed by the Chairperson of the National Council, that the Council in terms of Article 75(2) of the Constitution, considered and confirmed the following *Bills* without amendments.
  - (a) *Income Tax Amendment Bill* [B.9 2024];
  - (b) *Value-Added Tax Bill* [B.11 2024];
  - (c) Transfer Duty Amendment Bill [B.10 2024];
  - (d) Stamp Duty Amendment Bill [B.13 2024];
  - (e) *Divorce Bill* [B.3 2024];
  - (f) *Civil Registration and Identification Bill* [B. 8–2024];
  - (g) *Health Professions Bill* [B. 4 2024];
  - (h) Regularisation of Status of Certain Residents of Namibia, their Descendants and Foreign Spouses Bill [B. 6 2024]; and
  - (i) Appropriation Amendment Bill [B. 16 2024].

In terms of Article 75(3) of the Namibian Constitution, these *Bills* shall be referred to His Excellency the President to deal with them under Articles 56 and 64 of our Constitution.

### 3. **FIRST ORDER READ:**

Resumption of Debate on Second Reading – *Public Gatherings and Public Processions Bill* [B. 12 – 2024].

Question before the Assembly on Thursday, 6 February 2025, as moved by the Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security (page 145).

In terms of Rule 150 of the Standing Rules and Orders, Hon. Katjimune rose on behalf of the PDM and requested that their opposition to the Bill be formally recorded in the Journal of the Assembly.

Agreed to.

Question put: That the Bill be read a Second Time.

Agreed to.

Public Gatherings and Public Processions Bill [B. 12 – 2024] read a Second Time.

### 4. SECOND ORDER READ:

Committee Stage – Roads Bill [B. 5 – 2024].

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Works and Transport moved, seconded by the Deputy Minister of Mines and Energy: That the Assembly now goes into Committee.

Agreed to.

ASSEMBLY IN COMMITTEE:

Arrangement of Sections put and agreed to. Clauses 1 - 58 put and agreed to.

Clause 59 put. Clause 59 stands over for amendment. Clause 60 – 69 put and agreed to. Schedule 1 put and agreed to. Schedule 2 put and agreed to. Title put and agreed to.

Progress reported and leave granted to sit again.

#### 5. **FIRST NOTICE OF A MOTION:**

The Deputy Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation moved, seconded by Hon. Katamelo:

That this Assembly –

*Approves* the appointment and re-appointment of the following members of the Employment Equity Commission, as endorsed by Cabinet as per its Decision No.  $19^{th}/29.10.24/011$ , for a period of three (3) years commencing 1 March 2025 – 29 February 2028.

| Members                                      | Alternate<br>Members                      | Institution   | Representing |
|--|---|---|--------------|
| Mr. Deon Scott<br>Re-appointment             | Ms. Gillian<br>Korner<br>New appointment  | Ministry of Home<br>Affairs,<br>Immigration,<br>Safety and<br>Security          | State        |
| Ms. Rauha<br>Haufiku<br>Re-appointment       | Ms. Pombili Eelu<br>New appointment       | Office of the<br>Prime Minister   |              |
| Ms. Petrina<br>Nghidengwa<br>New appointment | Dr. Daleen<br>Kavazepa<br>New appointment | Ministry of<br>Labour, Industrial<br>Relations and<br>Employment<br>Creation    |              |
| Ms. Rebekka<br>Namwandi<br>New appointment   | Mr. Fillimon<br>Shiimi<br>New appointment | Ministry of<br>Gender Equality,<br>Poverty<br>Eradication and<br>Social Welfare |              |
| Mr. Orben Muluti                             | Ms. Selina Lisita                         |   |              |

| New appointment   | New appointment  | National<br>Federation of<br>People with<br>Disabilities in<br>Namibia | Person with disabilities                |
|---|--|--|---|
| Ms. Sabrina<br>Jacobs<br>Re-appointment                                 | Mr. Libonina<br>Nawa<br>Previously<br>substantive<br>member                          | Namibian<br>Employers'<br>Federation                                   | Employers<br>Organisations              |
| Mr. Matheus<br>Ndeshikeya<br>New appointment                            | Ms. Narina<br>Pollmann<br>New appointment  | National Union of<br>Namibian<br>Workers<br>(NUNW)                     | Trade Unions                            |
| Ms. Carol Otto<br>Re-appointment.<br>Previously<br>alternate<br>members | Ms. Vinincia<br>Shigwedha<br>New appointment   | Trade Union<br>Congress of<br>Namibia                                  |   |
| Mr. Hofni Iipinge<br>Re-appointment.<br>Previously<br>alternate member  | Ms. Welhelmina<br>Sheehama<br>Re-appointment.<br>Previously<br>substantive<br>member | South West<br>Africa People's<br>Organization<br>(SWAPO Party)         | Previously<br>racially<br>disadvantaged |
| Roberto Dirkse<br>New appointment                                       | Inojavandu<br>Katjepunda<br>New appointment  | Popular<br>Democratic<br>Movement<br>(PDM)                             |   |

Question put: That the appointment and re-appointment of the members be approved.

Agreed to.

## 6. SECOND NOTICE OF A MOTION:

The Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform moved, seconded by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Works and Transport:

That this Assembly -

*Discuss* and *adopt* the expansion of the following communal areas:

- 1. Otjimbingwe communal areas by incorporating the Remaining Extent of Portion A of the Farm Okongava, No: 72 measuring 15,160.19 HA.
- 2. Ovitoto communal area by incorporating Farm Osema No: 63 measuring 5374.39 HA and Farm Gusinde No: 197 measuring 3753.93 HA.
- 3. Aminus communal area by incorporating Farm Alpha No: 628, measuring 6767.6098 HA.

The expansion of these communal areas is required to relief grazing pressure on the above said communal areas. The expansion of these communal areas will be done in terms of the provisions of the Communal Land Reform Act, 2002 (Act No: 5 of 2002), as amended. The expansion of these communal areas will also be added to Schedule One of the said Act.

Question put: That the expansion be adopted.

Agreed to.

#### 7. **THIRD NOTICE OF A MOTION** deferred.

8. On the motion of the Speaker, the Assembly adjourned at 17:38 until Wednesday, 12 February 2025.

**MS. L. KANDETU** Secretary of the National Assembly

Compiled by I. Nehoya